

## **BOARD OF GOVERNORS**

## PUBLIC SESSION

MINUTES

Newnham Campus CITE room K3010 Thursday, April 25, 2019 2 p.m.

Present: David Agnew Fareed Amin Janet Beed, Chair **Doug Brooks** Ahmed Chakera Michael Chan Shafiq Ebrahim John Honderich Warren Jestin Mani Sarna Mark Solomon Ashif Somani Belinda Tang Vince Timpano (via teleconference) Rashpal Uppal-Assi **Regrets:** Chris Bullen Staff: Bernie Beaulieu, Associate Vice-President, Human Resources Ranjan Bhattacharya, Dean, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering Technology Christine Blake, Dean of Students Jean Choi, Dean, Academic Quality Renata D'Innocenzo, Chief of Staff/AVP, President's Office; Corporate Secretary Cindy Fong, Director, Student Recruitment and Web Development Nevzat Gurmen, Vice-President, Finance and Administration; Board Treasurer Dean Hughes, Executive Director, Advancement and Alumni Sharon Kinasz, Registrar Radha Krishnan, Associate Vice-President, Information Services Corey Long, Director, Strategic Initiatives and Government Relations Maria May, Dean, Faculty of Applied Arts and Health Sciences Michael Maynard, Dean, Faculty of Communication, Art and Design Jeff McCarthy, Dean, Faculty of Continuing Education and Training Kimberley Minott, Board Assistant; Recorder Naaz Mohamed, Director, Financial Services David Neale, Executive Director, Campus Services Jos Nolle, Executive Director, International

Laurel Schollen, Vice-President, Academic Vanessa Williamson, Dean, Applied Research, Innovation and Entrepreneurship

The chair called the meeting to order at 2 p.m. and congratulated John Honderich on being the recipient of the Canadian Journalism Foundation's (CJF) Lifetime Achievement Award.

There was no Conflict of Interest declared.

1. Consent Agenda

Ashif Somani moved, seconded by Belinda Tang, "That the Board of Governors approve the consent agenda business".

CARRIED

Items approved by consent agenda:

1.1 Confirmation of Agenda

1.2 Public Session Minutes – February 21, 2019

## 2. Internal Governor Elections

Three new internal representatives have been elected by their peers and will begin their terms on September 1, 2019:

- Hamza Baig, a student in the Electronics Engineering Technology program, as the student representative
- Jerin Raj, a Technical Support Technologist in the Information Services department, as the support staff representative
- Peivand Pirouzi, a professor in the Faculty of Applied Arts and Health Sciences, as the faculty representative.

The chair noted that current governors Mani Sarna, Ahmed Chakera and Rashpal Uppal-Assi will complete their terms on August 31, 2019 and thanked them for their contributions.

It was also noted that for the student election an appeal was heard by the Election Review and Election Appeal boards. As an outcome of the process, the 'Election of Internal Members to the Board of Governors' policy will be reviewed. Recommended changes will be brought forward to the board at its June meeting.

The chair thanked the governors who participated on these boards for their contributions.

3. President's Report

In addition to his report, President Agnew highlighted that:

• a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) was recently signed with Royal Veterinary College (RVC), the largest veterinary school in the UK, allowing Seneca's Veterinary Technician students to study RVC's Bachelor of Veterinary Medicine course and learn from RVC staff during annual visits to Seneca

- Michael Maynard, Dean, Faculty of Communication, Art and Design will be retiring at the end of June 2019
- 4. Other Business None.
- 5. Date of Next Meeting: Thursday, June 13, 2019, Newnham Campus, A4508
- 6. Adjournment

Doug Brooks moved, seconded by Fareed Amin, "That the public session adjourn and move in camera".

CARRIED

The public session adjourned at 2:09 p.m. to move in camera.

Meed

Chair

Renata Dinocenjo

Corporate Secretary