Skip to main content

Installation of Seneca College President David Agnew

On Tuesday, October 6, in front of an audience of Senecans, local dignitaries and College partners, President David Agnew took the oath of office from Board Chair Helen Hayward and was officially installed as Seneca’s fifth President.

oath of office

The evening included guest speakers and a ceremony where President Agnew received his robes of office, assisted by Bill Riddell, President of the Seneca Retirees Association and Desmond Duke, Honourary Director of the Alumni Association Board of Directors.

robing ceremony

David Agnew congratulated by Helen Hayward

Seneca’s students were well represented by Oscar Bobadilla, President of the Seneca Student Federation, and students of the Event Marketing Management program who volunteered their assistance with the staging of the evening.

Marketing Event Management students with president

In attendance were David Zimmer, Willowdale MPP; Dr. Reza Moridi, MPP Richmond Hill and Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Research and Innovation, Frank Scarpitti, Mayor of the Town of Markham; Phyllis Morris, Mayor of Aurora; Deputy Mayor Bill Cober, King Township and Brenda Hogg, Deputy Mayor of the Town of Richmond Hill.

The special evening was also attended by Chris Whitaker, President and CEO of St. Lawrence College and Anne Sado, President of George Brown College.

And for the first time, all five Seneca presidents were together, as President Agnew was joined by past presidents Rick Miner, Stephen Quinlan, William Newnham and Roy McCutcheon.

Seneca's five presidents