Skip to main content

Outstanding graduates nominated for Ontario Premier’s Awards

The Premier's Awards honour the important social and economic contribution college graduates make in Ontario and throughout the world.

The Awards, launched in 1992 to mark the 25th anniversary of Ontario's colleges, are administered by Colleges Ontario. Presented annually in six categories, the recipients are chosen from nominations submitted by Ontario's 24 colleges.

Nominees must demonstrate outstanding career success related to their college experience and have made a significant contribution to their community.

Every year, up to six noteworthy Seneca alumni are nominated for this prestigious award. The outstanding nominees for this year's Premier's Award are:

Gordon Scheel

Recent graduate

Gordon Scheel, a graduate of the International Business Management program, is the Business Development Advisor for the Regional Municipality of York, where he is responsible for increasing the exposure of York Region as a suitable investment destination for international companies. Gordon had a significant role as part of York Region’s economic development investment team in facilitating more than 500 new jobs in York Region.

Colin D’Mello

Creative Arts and Design

Colin D’Mello, a graduate of the Journalism program, is an award-winning field reporter and the weekend co-anchor for CTV News at Six in Toronto. Throughout his career, Colin has covered various major stories, including the 2010 G20 protests in Toronto and the 2012 VIA train derailment in Burlington. He also helped launch 1310News in Ottawa and News 91.9 in Moncton.

Geraldine Heaney

Community Services

Geraldine Heaney, a graduate of the Recreation program, led Canada to seven consecutive International Ice Hockey Federation Women’s World Championship gold medals as a member of the Canadian Women’s National Hockey Team. Long considered to be the best defenceman in women's hockey history, she will be inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in November 2013.

Henry Zhang


Henry Zhang, a graduate of the Computer Networking and Technical Support program, is the Vice President of Marketing at Landpower Real Estate Ltd. Brokerage, where he oversees multimillion-dollar property transactions within the Greater Toronto Area. Henry is the recipient of more than 20 industry awards of excellence, such as HomeLife Realty’s Salesperson of the Year Award and WowTV’s Top Real Estate Agent Award.

David Johnson


David Johnson, a graduate of the Fire Protection Engineering Technology program, is the senior project manager and an associate of RBA Engineering Ltd. With more than 20 years of experience in the field of fire protection,David has worked on many high-profile projects, including the redevelopment of Maple Leaf Gardens, Absolute Condominiums and Trump Hotel and Residence in downtown Toronto.

Michelle Dakin

Health Sciences

Michelle Dakin, a graduate of the Advanced Investigations and Enforcement program, is the Emergency Management Coordinator at Baycrest Health Sciences. Under her leadership, Baycrest became the first healthcare facility in Ontario to have evacuation chairs on site to help people who are immobile to exit safely during a crisis. She is the recipient of the Rouge Valley Health Systems’ Board of Directors Award for Outstanding Achievement in Patient Safety.